Corridor 12 of 12
St Ives Greenway
The 'jewel in the network' got three quick wins, lost its flood fix, its bridges and its highest-priority link.
In design or planning
What became of the 14 proposals for this corridor
What the 2016 review asked for
- Review and integrate signage along the whole route
- New flood-relief paths in at least four locations, 1.5 km
- Links to Oakington (300 m), Rampton (800 m), Willingham (2 km), Histon and Impington (850 m)
- New Swavesey–Over route with a 20 m-plus bridge, 1.6 km
- New Great Ouse bridge to Holywell, 40 m-plus, plus a 10 m bridge and 1.2 km of path
- New link to Fenstanton, 1.6 km — 'give this new link high priority'
What happened
- 25 June 2020Board approves the route at £7.5m.
- 6 Feb – 31 Mar 2023Consultation on the Oakington to Cottenham spur and the Over and Fen Drayton spurs.
- 2023–25Quick wins delivered: the Girton to Oakington link, Willingham improvements to the busway link, and the Rampton Reynolds' Drove link.
- September 2025Board decision suspends the Over spur on rising construction costs.
- December 2025Detailed design finalisation; delivery targeted for 2026; Oakington to Cottenham design continuing.
- 9 July 2026Full business case for Oakington to Cottenham approved by the Executive Board.
Where it stands, September 2026
Quick wins open, the Oakington to Cottenham spur approved, everything structural stalled. The 2016 review identified flooding between St Ives and Swavesey as the single biggest threat to the corridor — 'if people get out of the habit of using the greenway during long periods of closure they may never return as regular users' — and recommended raised paths on the busway embankment. Flood monitoring continues; no paths have been built. Fenstanton, named the strongest case of all the links, is absent. So are the Holywell bridges.
Every proposal on this route
| Proposed intervention (2016) | Type | Scale | Status 2026 | What happened |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Review and integrate signage along the whole route and its links | Upgrade | 19 km | Not in current programme | The review's first priority for this corridor; no integrated signing scheme has been delivered. |
| New flood-relief paths in at least four locations using the busway embankment | New route | 1.5 km | Paused on cost | Flood monitoring in the Swavesey area continues; no paths built. |
| Replace low-level bollards with taller, more visible ones | Upgrade | — | Not in current programme | Not reported as delivered. |
| Address path-edge subsidence near Longstanton | Upgrade | 200 m | Not in current programme | Not reported as delivered. |
| New and upgraded links to Histon and Impington | Gap-fill path | 600 m + 250 m | In design or planning | In design as part of the wider St Ives Greenway. |
| New path link to Oakington | New route | 300 m | Built and open | Delivered as a quick win — the Girton to Oakington link. |
| New path link to Rampton | New route | 800 m | Built and open | Delivered as a quick win — the Reynolds' Drove link. |
| New path link to Willingham | New route | 2 km | Built and open | Improvements to the busway link delivered as a quick win; the full 2km new path was not built. |
| New route linking Swavesey and Over, with a new bridge of 20m-plus span | New structure | 20 m + 1.6 km | Paused on cost | Consulted in 2023, then suspended on rising construction costs following a Board decision in September. |
| Resurface the 600m track linking to Swavesey | Upgrade | 600 m | In design or planning | 'Any opportunity worth taking'; not yet taken. |
| New bridges to Holywell and Needingworth — one of 40m-plus span over the Great Ouse, one of 10m-plus, and 1.2km of new path | New structure | 40 m + 10 m | Not in current programme | Not in the programme. |
| Improve the surfacing of the Fen Drayton byway | Upgrade | 1.2 km | In design or planning | Still an aspiration. |
| New Greenway link to Fenstanton | New route | 1.6 km | Not in current programme | Given 'high priority' in 2016 and named the strongest case of all the St Ives links. Not in the current scheme. |
| Oakington to Cottenham link | New route | — | Approved, construction due | Added after 2016. Consulted 2023; full business case approved 9 July 2026. |